catatonic is an immersive journey through an insane asylum in which the audience, bound to a wheelchair, undergoes a sensory-shocking horror thrill ride.

participants will be ushered into a custom-built wheelchair by live nurses in 1940s uniforms. the design of the chair resembles a padded cell: a unique blend of comfort and paralysis. the viewer will then be fitted with a samsung gear headset and headphones. in the virtual environment, the “patient” / audience member is ushered through the psychiatric wing, experiencing the full brunt of madness within. along with the 360o 3d immersion of vr, the patient will also feel jolts emanating from a buttkickertm, a vibrating device built into the base of the wheelchair. the many moving parts of catatonic build to a cacophony of terror and depravity one has to experience to believe.

sxsw 2015 press release (pdf)
Birth. Movies. Death.
Birth. Movies. Death.
stanley film festival experience: catatonic vr chair will freak you out
May 4, 2015
The Creator Project
The Creator Project
vr horror experience puts you inside a 1940s mental hospital
March 25, 2015
6 things you should know about the vr horror film catatonic
March 18, 2015
schedule a screening
  • March 15-21, 2015
    Austin, TX
  • April 30 - May 3, 2015
    Stanley Film Festival
  • June 3, 2015
    New York, New York
  • June 22-27, 2015
    Cannes Lions
    Cannes, France
  • July 9, 2015
    Comic Con
    Omni San Diego Hotel, 675 L St. (Invitation only)
  • July 25, 2015
    DGA Digital Day
  • September 18 - 27, 2015
    Strasbourg European Fantastic Film Festival
  • September 24 - October 9, 2015
    Vancouver International Film Festival
    Vancouver, BC - CANADA

a vr film by
guy shelmerdine

directed by
guy shelmerdine

written by
guy shelmerdine & edward robles

executive producers
chris milk
allison kunzman
patrick milling smith
brian carmody
samantha storr
tamsin glasson
joe chen

male orderlie
ervin ross

caged girl
zahra ingersoll

kay d'arcy kassie johnston

rickard kray

female orderlie
maria olsen

er ruiz
john wallbank
edward robles
jason wayne christian
michael q. schmidt
arthur ebenstein

wire women
christine andelfinger
arisa brooks
sylvia a. kochinski
stepka li
crystal michelle

director of photography
sebastian pfaffenbichler

production designer
jeremy reed

line producer
bernard rahill

cass vanini (work editorial)

associate producer
ryan lippert

costume designer
april napier

music & sound design by
dražen bošnjak

music production by
q department in association with mach1 studios

casting director
jodi sonnenberg

production supervisor
mike garcia

commercial production coordinator
gabrielle del mese

first assitant director
ryan lippert

stunt support
tim gilbert
mike washlake

russ ayer

key grip
matt blum

peter madrid

electric driver
chip henderson

daniel woiwide

production departments
art coordinator
sasha jenson

prop master
kurk gauger

key costumer
ric renae hughes

key hairstylist
ernie hernandez

alan martinez

scott stoddard
chris gallagher
rocky faulkner
vance hartwell

special efx makeup
rocky faulkner
christopher gallaher
vance hartwell
scott stoddard

dylan defelicis

sound mixer
alex lamm

dylan lamm

set photographer
keith coleman

title design
kyle stewart

tom goss
jose martinez
adam goss
david hernandez
andy patrick

site rep
clayton rowley

work editorial
executive producer
erica thompson

assistant editor
trevor meyers

executive producer
tim dillon

vr lead
alex harding

creative technologists
stuart schwartz
eric renaud-houde
chris vincze

aleksandar djordjevic
john mckee
gigi ng
carl fong

cg lead
chris bernier

title design
david estis
diana park
chief technical officer
andy lesniak

interactive binaural sound design jeffrey anderson

post supervisors
matt winkel
chris ott

asistant editor
julian ong

vfx compositer
vicki huang

head of production
brian taravella

production coordinator
madeline eckhart

assistant to chris milk
elizabeth scouler

stunt coordinator
pat romano

chris allen

special thanks
ashley jacobs
robbie freed
edmond santoso
blake chase
byron mayen
garret parker
seth meisterman
keith coleman
phil crowe
martin rivera
alan scott

audio and video 3d 360 capture technology provided by

virtual reality player and sound engine technology powered by